---
title: 2.2    Managing User Groups
slug: singleconnect-2-16/22-managing-user-groups
description: Learn how to effectively manage user groups in Single Connect with this comprehensive document. Discover the step-by-step process for creating and editing user groups, as well as adding members to them. Explore the option to set up managerial approval rul
docTags: 
createdAt: 2020-07-16T16:47:53.000Z
---

## Managing User Groups

Authorized users can manage User Groups and add users to User Groups.

**Creating User Groups**

To create a User Group, follow the steps below:

1. Log in to the Single Connect Web GUI
2. Navigate to User Management > User Accounts
3. Open the User Group Definition tab
4. Enter the group name and definition
5. Select the group users and the group managers
6. Select an access permission (none or more than one can be chosen)
7. Save to create account



::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/presign/g9cApVza9NIhSh0pjZYtA/lPQMZjVbRNmawgIsTmgUs_image.png" size="80" position="center" showCaption="false"}



| **Note**                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   |
| -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| *Password TTL (Time to live) Day:&#x20;*&#x20;*Defines the maximum time allowed for the use of passwords for users in this group.*<br />- *When a user's password reaches its TTL, the user is forced to change their password the next time they login.*<br />- *Users who are members of two or more groups have the minimum password TTL among the groups.*<br />- *If this value is set to "-1", the password of users in this group will never expire!*<br />- *If this value is set to "0" or left as empty, it will be ignored during password expiration control!* |

**Editing User Groups**

To edit a User Group or to add a member to a group follow the steps below:

1. Log in to the Single Connect Web GUI
2. Navigate to User Management > User Accounts
3. Open the User Group Definition tab
4. Enter the group name and Search
5. From the Options drop-down menu, click Edit Group, which will show the User Group’s details.
6. Select and add additional users or edit group details
7. Save





**Managerial Approval Definition for User Groups**

To define managerial approval rule for members of a user group, check “Approval Required” checkbox in the Edit screen and save the user group.

After saving, all users in the group will need managerial approval when they try to connect a device via RDP or SSH.

